Freecycle rocks!

box.jpg
We got a free mailbox today through the generosity of someone on Freecycle. We’re using it as a temporary box on the side porch while the front porch is out of commission. If you’re not already a member, I’d like to highly recommend Freecycle. The idea is that if you have something you don’t want, something you’re gonna throw out, you post a message to the group. And if someone wants it, they come pick it up from you. And if you need something, you post a request, and if someone has that item you go pick it up from them.

I have used Freecycle to save money and keep stuff out of the landfill countless times since I’ve owned this house. The 19″ Sony monitor I’m looking at now came to me through Freecycle. I’ve gotten free mulch and  copper pipe, too. And I’ve given away scraps of wood, bubble wrap, magazines, a vacuum, and heaps of other stuff. I even found a good home for a 50s fridge in another city through Freecycle. I’m so happy it exists.

This entry was posted in recycling, supplies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Freecycle rocks!

  1. Gene says:

    Freecycle does indeed rock. I’ve received a nice futon and a couple of sheets of 5/8″ drywall, and gotten rid of a host of stuff that we weren’t using any more, including most recently a charcoal BBQ (we’ve got a propane one)

  2. n54th says:

    Yay, Gene! Yeah, I’m even more happy about Freecycle when I see that the trash collection here in the city will accept anything—toxic chemicals, cans of paint and wax (I’ve rescued these things), couches, bed sets—and in such huge volumes from the neighbors who share my alley. It’s nuts.

Leave a Reply

