A few more observations

The porch seems to be wider than its predecessor. I’m not really sure why, but it does seem to match the roof size. Perhaps both were added together. This leaves me with a bit of a quandary. The northeast support post was sitting on the outside corner of the limestone base and had tilted it several inches. Obviously, I’d like the post to sit as close the the center of the footing as possible. I’ve got a few odd ideas floating around in my head. Will let you all know what I come up with.

In other news, for some crazy reason, when someone put the risers on the steps (I’m assuming later) instead of ripping the risers to proper width, they cut down into the stringer! I can’t understand at all how that could have been simpler than ripping a board.riserchop.jpg

This entry was posted in porch. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

