Roper from Chicago

A smart eBay shopper snagged this stunning Roper—with salt ‘n’ pepper shakers just like mine, but not with a clock but with what? (timer? I can’t tell)—for much, much less than I paid for mine. Score! And another excellent old appliance lives on; this makes me so happy!

Feast your eyes.

chi60638ro1.jpg

chi60638ro2.jpgchi60638ro3.jpg

chi60638ro4.jpg

chi60638ro5.jpg

Another cool thing about this eBay sale was the description by the seller:

60 Year Old Roper Kitchen Stove Nice working Condition.
Pick up only in Chicago, Ill 60638

This is my mother stove, she has gone to Jesus. The stove is 40 inches wide. The White porcelain is in very good condition. The are a couple of chip area’s on the right lid to cover the burners. The stove is very clean. Actually mommy never cook all that much. So the stove has low miles. Everything to my knowledge works. Roper has a cool description on what temperatures to set the stove at for different foods.

To round out this entry, here’s a pic of the fabulous Mr. George W. Roper (third from left) with some other distinguished individuals. I found this last weekend (when I was goofing off instead of working, just like I am doing this weekend) in the Library of Congress archives.

georgedroper3rd.jpg

Chicago Daily News negatives collection, DN-0069845. Courtesy of the Chicago Historical Society.

This entry was posted in Roper stoves and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Roper from Chicago

  1. derek says:

    Hi all and i am the one who picked up this stove. But the problem is i have a safety valve issue with the main oven. Also one of the handles is split in half. I am still pleased with the stove but i would like to know if anyone can help with the valve problem and possibly the handle ?

    P.S it is a timer.

    derek

  2. n54th says:

    I’m so happy you found my post! I will e-mail you directly.

  3. Dana says:

    Hello fellow Roper Stove Lovers,

    First of all PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE write to me at my email adress and tell me where in Chicago I can find parts and service for my beautiful early 30’s Roper. I also found her on ebay, and promptly named her Eleanor. I will send photos if you can tell me how and where, or where and how. (Old stove, old house, doesn’t understand the internet — go figure.)

    Dana

  4. n54th says:

    Hi Dana,

    I don’t have any repair sources for Chicago since my beast works just fine. I do need to get some parts reporcelained, though, but I keep putting that on the backburner, as it were. Would love to see pics of your stove and will e-mail you.

  5. Stacey says:

    I “rescued” a stove almost like this one from my Uncle’s house. There are three knobs on the left, an oven knob in the middle and two on the right side. The burners are offset instead of in line like this one. I’ve been trying to find the model number or even the year but with no luck. Can anyone help me? By the way… I love all you’re doing. Your house is going to be awesome when finished. Finished… interesting word since I don’t think any house is ever “finished”! Thanks

    Stacey

  6. Chriz says:

    Hi Stacey! I so agree with you about houses being finished, except when demolished I supposed (which I am hoping my work will help avoid for this one). Congrats on your stove score. On my stove, the model number is on an aluminum tag underneath the burners. Mine has all four burners on the left side, however. On mine, you take off the lower-right burner grate and there’s a finger hole you can use to lift the whole burner-surround thingy up. At the back in the middle is the tag that has the company name, model number, etc. You can also check the copyright year on the diagrams inside the oven and broiler doors. Though on mine they give different years; I am convinced that parts got reused around this time of production. I believe Ropers with features similar to this one are from the 1940s—early or late is the question.

  7. Stacey says:

    Chriz,
    Thanks for the information. I actually found the date and model number. It was made in 1941. Thanks again!
    Stacey

Leave a Reply

