Itty-bitty Roper from Falls Church, Va.

Here’s an apartment-size Roper stove that was being sold out of Virginia. It’s got the same handles as mine—if anyone ever sees any spares of those door handles, please let me know since I’m missing two.


fallschurch1.jpg

fallschurch2.jpg

Yep, they all have the chart.

fallschurch3.jpg

This entry was posted in Roper stoves and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Itty-bitty Roper from Falls Church, Va.

  1. Margery says:

    I happened upon your blog by accident, searching Google for a Roper stove to buy…I just love that little Roper stove in Falls Church, VA, (My house is from 1920 and that stove would like like it was original!!) I am writing to see if it is for sale, and if so by whom? Thank you very much.

  2. n54th says:

    Isn’t it adorable? I’m sorry to say I pulled those photos off eBay a year or more ago. Though I think the itty-bitty stove is more likely 40s than 20s, if I ever come across another one being sold, I’ll let you know. Good luck with your search and your house!

  3. Margery says:

    Thank you very much for your reply. But boo-hoo, I can’t get that STOVE!!! I have posted a “wanted” ad on eBay that shows another adorable apartment-size Roper (with crumb trays, my Grandma’s stove had crumb trays!), here’s the link:
    http://wantitnow.ebay.com/roper-stove-gas_W0QQadidZ120202328858
    Thank you again.
    BTW, I can’t believe your house lost most of it’s doors. So did mine! Out of nine original doors, only two remain. When an old house here has the misfortune to be vacant, thieves steal the doors out of them and sell them to “salvage” yards. I’ve seen stairway banisters ripped out, too, as with the doors, the big old solid wood ones must fetch a pretty penny.

  4. n54th says:

    Crumb trays are the nazz! If you find another stove on the other side of the country that you love, you might look into getting it crated and shipped. It’s not cheap, but I can tell you that having a stove moved only a few miles professionally is pricey. And I’ve had cast iron sinks and shower pans delivered from across the country, and those deliveries cost less.

    That’s awful about woodwork being plundered. It’s even worse than the previous owners ripping out the stuff. Grrrrrrrr.

  5. Vicki says:

    I have a Roper stove that I expect is from the 1930’s and looks like the one in the picture (except mine has some porcelain issues). I want to sell mine and I live on the Eastern Shore of Maryland.

Leave a Reply

