Divine intervention

Over the weekend I had a dream in which I was going to see the Dalai Lama. What does this have to do with the house, you ask? Read on!

So I’m in a humongous lecture hall, milling around with the other minions looking for a place to sit. We climb up and up and find new and ever-narrower seating sections—all full. Finally, as I’m thinking about how I’m really supposed to be at work anyway, I’m seated and craning to try to find the stage. When I realize I have a bucket in my lap. Full of plaster. Pink plaster, since I am smitten with Plaster-Weld. So I start mixing it up and smooshing the stuff against the sides of the bucket to smoothen it out. And then I realize there’s no way this stuff is going to stay soft throughout the whole lecture and the trip home. So what should I do—plaster the seats around me?

And then I woke up. Much to the relief of everybody else in the dream, I am sure.

I can think of many interpretations of this, though none of them really help me with the fact that I intended to finish off the plastering today so we could start nailing up the tin ceiling next weekend. But instead we slept in until after noon. And now I am blogging. And thinking about making brownies with this recipe yanked from an imaginary friend:

8 tbsp butter
2 ounces unsweetened chocolate
1 c sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs
1/2 c flour

Melt butter and chocolate together. Stir in sugar. Stir in vanilla. Stir in eggs. Stir in flour. Pour into buttered 8″x8″ pan (not a different size). (Lick bowl.) Bake at 325 for 20-22 minutes, just until top is set. (Watch carefully. Dry and crumbly probably means baked too long.)

This entry was posted in everyday, food, plaster, procrastination and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Divine intervention

  1. Stacy says:

    Haha. I have nightmares about school, specifically forgetting to finish my math homework and going to class with the dreaded thought of taking an unprepared final. Somehow, the lecture nightmares are also involved with people spraying invisible graffiti on walls and flying superheros.

    My interpretation of your dream? Being at peace with plaster. May your plastering project go smoothly.

  2. samasti says:

    If you have seen the Dalai Lama or have dreamt that you are going to see him, your deepest desire is of peace. And you want that pink plaster (pink signifying, love) to be plastered on your house. Here your house is you yourself. What a wonderful dream to have. may you find peace in every area of your life.
    Samasti

  3. n54th says:

    Stacy, thank you for the encouragement. I hope the flying superheroes are rescuing you from your abominable lectures!

    And Samasti, how nice of you to chime in. I have seen the Dalai Lama several times and am hoping to again soon. He is awesome and really helps me to put life in perspective. I’m sure he would chuckle heartily at my dream.

Leave a Reply

