Roper from the west side of Chicago

On Craigslist now is this late 30s Roper stove with darling pistachio handles. The seller says the stove “was working when I got it 12 years ago, has been a great liquor cabinet since.”

This entry was posted in Roper stoves and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Roper from the west side of Chicago

  1. morrigan says:

    That is a cool looking stove. I finally have a pic of mine posted on my blog. Just got the gas connection installed yesterday, it was great to be able to use it! Now I can get rid of the electric cooktop and have some more counter space.

  2. Karen S. says:

    I have an old Roper in my basement. It looks like it’s in pretty good condition but I have never tried to use it. It came with the house when I bought it 4 years ago. I know these stoves are sought after and it seems a shame to leave it sitting unappreciated in my basement. How would I go about finding more about it (what year, what’s reasonable to ask for if I tried to sell it)?

    You keep a great website! Thanks for your help.
    -Karen
    karen_73@mail.com

  3. n54th says:

    If you send me some pics and tell me what city you’re near, I can give you some ballpark info.

  4. Teri says:

    I am so happy to find other people that appreciate Ropers!! Our first Roper came with a home we bought in Madison, WI. Which we since sold. We actually found another one in Milwaukee, WI to put into a house we renovated in the early 1990s. We now rent that home, and decided not to keep the stove in it as the thermostat in the oven did not work so I had to really keep my eye one it when baking – but I loved the stove so I did not care. Any way it is now sitting in the garage, covered – I would love to sell it to someone that would appreciate it like I have. Any idea how to find that special person??

  5. Chriz says:

    Great to hear your story, Teri! I found my Roper through the Old Appliance Club classifieds.

    http://www.antiquestoves.com/toac/applianceclassifieds.htm

    But I’d suggest Craigslist too. And if you’re not having luck finding anyone to buy it, Freecycle.

  6. TomD.Arch says:

    Looks just like mine! (Without the pistachio color accents – mine is white/chrome/black) I’m poking around here because I snapped the knob off of the oven on/off valve last night. Reading on the web that gas valves need to be lubed periodically has cheered me up – hopefully there won’t be some wild goose chase for an obscure, out of production part! I’ve got a call into an “old school” appliance repair guy, so hopefully this will get fixed before Christmas cookie baking gets into full swing…

    For what it’s worth, the range works well. We need an oven thermometer to “offset” from what the thermostat knob is set to – if we want 350F, we set the knob to between 300 and 325. The cooktop works fairly well, but we do need to manually light 2 of the 4 burners, but that’s no big deal.

    That said, it isn’t the circa 1950 48″, 6 burner, 2 oven Roper range I grew up with (that my parents still have/use daily!), nor is it my dream 48″ BlueStar with the military-grade 22k BTU flamethrower for full tilt wok cooking (along with the SERIOUS hood…) Someday!

  7. Chriz says:

    If your appliance guy can’t find the knob, I’ve got a friend who might have a spare. I think her backup stove is the same model, and she’s a handle hoarder. Also, my early 40s model has a screw to adjust the pilot light, which solved my problem of having to sometimes light some burners. You might poke around under the burner cover on yours.

Leave a Reply

