Roper from Rochester, Minn.

Here’s a sleek Roper stove that came with the house one of our readers bought. I find this model quite intriguing because it’s got the early 40s knobs and handles that mine has, as well as the late 30s marbled burner surround that a friend’s model has (I still have to post hers, but that type of top is here). And the legs are somewhere in between.

You can’t quite see the marbling above; it’s a little more visible on the edge below.

The baking chart says 1938 …

But the broiling chart says 1940! I keep wondering what’s more likely—that the Roper plant would use old chart doors in newer models or that the plant would have doors for years in the future and use those in older models.

If you live near this stove and would like to give it a new home, give a holler.

This entry was posted in Roper stoves and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Roper from Rochester, Minn.

  1. Christy says:

    Hi! We just bought a house with an old roper dri-gas stove and was wondering what it may be worth. Do you have any recomendations on where we can find out? You seem like an expert to me! TNX

  2. n54th says:

    Welcome, Christy. If you send me some pix I can hazard a guess and also point you to some professionals who do appraisals. I’ll send you a direct e-mail.

  3. B. Greer says:

    I have two old Roper stoves, one in my kitchen and one in my basement. I’m remodeling the kitchen, and can’t keep it up there. Am going to try to move it downstairs, but I’ll still have one to get rid of. Do you know of any places that buy them? And how can I find out what they are worth?

  4. Brandy says:

    Hi there!
    My husband and I were just given a stove identical to this one with the exception of how it opens on the last picture. Our stove opens from the top of the door, not the sides. I was wondering if you could give me some information about this wonderful old stove, as I am a beginner in the area of antique stoves. I would love to find some replacement handles as well, so any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time! Brandy

  5. n54th says:

    B. Greer,

    Your best bet for finding a buyer is eBay or Craigslist. Most simple, unrestored Ropers will bring in anywhere from $25 to $200. If you have one in excellent condition with unusual features such as a clock, timer or light plus salt and pepper shakers, it might bring in more. It’s all up to the market in your area and your luck in the perfect person seeing your listing, however.

    A few different old appliance places offer appraisals. One is http://www.antiqueappliances.com/

    Good luck in finding a new home for your old Roper. In the sad event that you cannot find a buyer and decide to scrap it, please consider taking off the knobs and other removable parts to sell to those of us looking for parts.

  6. n54th says:

    Hi Brandy,

    Sorry I’ve taken so long to respond! Congrats on your new old stove. The last pic is of the storage area; all the oven doors I’ve seen open from the top, as you said. Ropers are wonderful, sturdy workhorses that were made in Rockford, Ill. They were the model sold by the gas company in Chicago, and that’s why there are so many of them still in use in this area. Features and details vary from stove to stove, but generally these are modest workers, not glamour queens. Feel free to contact me if you have any more questions. I need to work up a Roper FAQ one of these days.

    As to handles, it may take a bit of hunting to find the right ones for you stove. I’ve found only one place that had replacement handles for my stove, and the price was ridiculous—something like $65 each. Sometimes you can find an old store that has a box full of old handles. Or you might score something on eBay. And, as much as I hesitate to say it, you might find someone who couldn’t find a new home for an old Roper, and they might be willing to sell you only the handles. Are your handles just like the ones on this page? If so, they’re just like mine!

Leave a Reply

