Ropers from Iowa

Here are two from Iowa. The first, from Bettendorf and on Craigslist right now for $150, is an interesting specimen with backsplash details different from those I’ve seen before. It also seems to have early 40s knobs but late 40s handles.

robettendorfiowa2

robettendorfiowa1

robettendorfiowa3

robettendorfiowa4

The next one is from Burlington.
ro39burlingtoniowa1

ro39burlingtoniowa6

ro39burlingtoniowa3

ro39burlingtoniowa2

This entry was posted in Roper stoves and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ropers from Iowa

  1. Deena Seay says:

    I have a Roper 1941-1942 like the first two shown on your website. I am curious if there is a definite model number. I’m looking for the knobs that match. Tried glue without success. Do you have suggestions? Thank You I loved the info on the site. It was reassuring that this stove has kept its history.

  2. Chriz says:

    Hi Deena,

    The model number for my early 40s Roper is underneath the burners (the whole burner section lifts off) on a metal plate at the back of the stove. Mine is model 4800A, and it’s got the same burner knobs as the stoves shown in this post. After I broke one, I tried finding replacements and had a hard time. I did finally find someone with the right knobs, but the price was too high for me—$68 apiece without shipping and handling. That was http://www.unity-stove.com/antique.html

    What I’ve done instead is find a spare that doesn’t match. It was my broiler knob that broke, so it looks OK to have a different style of old knob in the middle there.

    How many knobs are you looking for?

Leave a Reply

