Cheapskate scores!

This evening when I went into the alley to throw out some things, I came upon a short, shiny row of apples at the base of one trash cart. My first compost-wacko thought was: “Marvy! More for my bins.” Then I noticed the apple line was pointing to a box full of rotting fruits, and next to that—another. Yep, I’m a cheap date. I get giddy from finding that someone has dumped rotting fruit behind my house.

appledump7833

I took this as an invitation to start up the new batch in my second bin, the one I harvested for this year’s garden. So I cleared out the last few cups of finished compost and tossed the gift fruits in: 177 apples, several bunches of grapes, 2 oranges, 1 peach and 1 plum.

dumpbin7837

Then I ripped up the juice-soaked cardboard boxes and added them as browns to balance out the fresh(ish) fruits. Now this will be the main putrescible pile, as we let the other binful burn down and transform into next year’s fertilizer. And this bin is well on its way to churning out beautiful, frugal food for the 2011 garden.

On the other side of the yard, it’s almost scape time!

scapes7831

Added for an inquiring commenter:

bin7727

I got that one free from a friend who didn’t have room for it anymore. I think the city sells them for $40 in the spring, along with rain barrels.

This entry was posted in compost, finds, food, garlic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cheapskate scores!

  1. Steven Linder says:

    I’d like to some more pictures of your composting bins.
    Why did you count all the apples?

  2. n54th says:

    They’re just garden-variety pre-fab bins made out of black plastic. I think one is a Soilsaver and the other an Earth Machine. I’ve added a pic to the post from when I was documenting peony colors in the yard.

    Why count? It’s good practice!

  3. Steve says:

    Please explain, if you would, the idea of ‘browns’ in your compost pile.
    Also, what is ‘scape’ time?

  4. n54th says:

    Browns are the carbon-rich ingredients. For more about browns and greens, see this link:

    http://www.organicgardening.com/feature/0,7518,s1-3-79-1253,00.html

    My latest post has more info on scapes:

    https://n54th.wordpress.com/2009/06/24/deliciouscape/

Leave a Reply

