No pox on my house

On the underside of the front porch roof, after we’d removed the beadboard for easier scraping and repainting, I found a nearly-century-old scrawl in pencil:

n54nogood8731

It says “no good.” Well, I’ve got to disagree with you there, sir. See, I’ve got time on my side. I am hindsight, here in 2009. That board is damn fine. Your handiwork lives on, and I thank you.

This entry was posted in conservation, details, history, porch, roof, workmanship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

