House history hopes

Having pleasantly little to do at work today, I got to amble around the Internet and found some more nifty sites for researching house history. I now think Historic Aerials is one of the coolest things I’ve seen recently. There I found aerial shots of my house from as far back as 1938! Unfortunately the older ones are a little blurry, but I can still see evidence of when my place had 3 lots’ worth of yard. I haven’t decided yet whether I’m going to toss 20 bucks at acquiring the image, but either way it’s nice to see.

I found that site via Forgotten Chicago’s research links, which I came across again during a search set off by seeing Man_of Steel’s historical assessor’s office photos on Flickr. I so wish I could find such a pic of my place! Somebody’s gotta have those pics still. Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee—that would be so cool to see a 1947 pic of my house.

This entry was posted in history, mystery, ponderment, tools, vintage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to House history hopes

  1. Kristy says:

    Thanks for sharing the Historic Aerials website, I was so excited to have found my house and even more excited to see that back in 1958 there was a structure (house, barn, etc) where my backyard is now.

  2. Chriz says:

    Cool! Always happy to hear of a fellow old-house lover finding historical hints.

Leave a Reply

