Demomentia

Pop quiz—What do these three buildings have in common?

     

They all need to be demolished. At least according to prevailing attitudes. These are just a few of the buildings on the city of Chicago’s chopping block, according to a series being featured at Gaper’s Block this year. Sociologist David Schalliol is posting portraits of 100 buildings threatened with demolition. I’m glad he’s collecting this info in one place, though it’s going to make me so sad to follow the updates. I only hope I can keep the house I’ve been working on standing for another hundred years at least.

This entry was posted in destruction, mistakes, workmanship and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Demomentia

  1. morrigan says:

    Demolish those? That makes me mad and wanting to cry all at the same time. That is just like taking your grandma to the vet to have her put to sleep just because she is old……….
    Too many people just don’t or can’t comprehend the value of something that has stood the test of time and just needs some TLC.

  2. morrigan says:

    It has been quite a while since I have heard from you……Hope all is well.
    Looking forward to hearing from you again!

  3. Chriz says:

    So sweet of you to wonder about me! I’m doing pretty well. Rather busy with personal and professional things and not doing much on the house (and by extension the blog). Also I think I need to stop starting and postponing posts. I have started a few in the last months, but there’s also one that’s been on the backburner since April 2010! Anyway, thank you for reaching out. I’ve been reading your posts quietly.

  4. morrigan says:

    Thanks for responding! I look forward to a new post at some point. Take care.

Leave a Reply

