Color love

Finally got some color on my living room walls.

And I love love love it.

Living in an old house whose walls are needy, you get used to the patchwork effect of cracks and holes and plaster or drywall rebuilds. In this house you also have to get used to the walls being beige or brown or yellow, the first two being shades that leave me so uninspired and the latter being disastrous in combination with the first two. So I was simply jubilant to finally work myself to the stage where I could splash some serious hue on those sides.

With the green old-sheet dropcloth you can get a better idea of what I whittled my visions down to. The blue-green crayon was almost my favorite. That’s got a lot to do with this, having to take into account the woodwork and light allowance in the room. I’m very pleased with this.

I’m also impressed by the paint’s coverage and sheen. It’s Benjamin Moore’s Cool Aqua in the Aura line’s matte finish. And I put it over 60-year-old drywall that had been dinged and patched, not to mention sawed out and built back in by the chimney wall. You can’t see any of that with this finish.

Oh, and then there’s the alcove I had installed! That’s a whole other post.

This entry was posted in paint and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Color love

  1. morrigan says:

    I like that shade of blue! How about a pic of the whole room? 🙂
    Nice to hear from you again. I hope that it won’t be so long until your next post!
    I’ve missed your posts.

  2. Chriz says:

    Here’s a little more for you! Thanks for keeping my extremely itinerant channel tuned in.

  3. morrigan says:

    Cool! Thanks for posting more pictures. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

